Sewing & Quilt Expo, Atlanta

I had the privilege of going to the the Original Sewing & Quilt Expo in Atlanta this past weekend.  I can’t compare it to any of the other expos from the past or the ones in other cities but this one was a lot like I expected – a nice quilt exhibit and a lot of shopping.  It did not disappoint. I have to qualify that by saying that I was only going for a day (Saturday) and I had purposely decided not to take any classes.  This is because the weekend was also a getaway weekend for my husband and me and while I was going to get a nice sewing/quilting fix, I really didn’t want to spend too much time away from him.

Still I have to say it was fun and inspiring.  There were a few small galleries in the quilt exhibit area.  There was an especially nice gallery featuring a modern take on double wedding ring quilts that made me want to go home and cut up some jeans and make the second-coolest double wedding ring quilt ever (the coolest one was on display).  Here’s a close-up of one of the blocks:

IMG_0722

This is the entire quilt:

IMG_0718

Here’s another modern take on the beloved double wedding ring:

IMG_0716

 

And here is a close-up:

IMG_0717

There was another gallery that featured old/antique, unfinished quilt tops that had been quilted by modern (that is current) quilters.  Here’s my favorite:

IMG_0688

IMG_0733

Yes, I was originally attracted to the orange and white but look at the quilting, FANTASTIC!

Here’s another favorite from that group

IMG_0693

and again, close up

IMG_0694

 

I could have studied the quilting on just these two for hours but I settled for taking a ton of pictures, trying to get as close as possible to get some ideas for free-motion quilting on my own quilts.  I also did some shopping, which I will share in another post.  I’ll probably share some more pictures in later posts as well because I got a LOT of ’em.

 

Leave a comment